3
\$\begingroup\$

When casting Silvery Barbs, could one apply the Order Domain class feature Voice of Authority to the second half of the spell?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I’ve added the D&D 5e tag since you mentioned several 5e features (silvery barbs, order domain, voice of authority). Welcome to the stack, take the tour when you have a moment. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 6 at 23:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Somewhat related, especially because of the timing aspect : rpg.stackexchange.com/q/181871/77044 \$\endgroup\$
    – Matthieu
    Jul 7 at 9:47

1 Answer 1

9
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, this works.

Voice of Authority states:

If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately after the spell to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see.

Silvery barbs is a 1st level spell, and says:

You can then choose a different creature you can see within range (you can choose yourself). The chosen creature has advantage on the next attack roll, ability check, or saving throw it makes within 1 minute.

If you select an ally for this part of the spell, you have met all the requirements for using Voice of Authority (cast a 1st level spell, target an ally), and your ally may immediately use their reaction to make one weapon attack with advantage. The attack is with advantage because Voice of Authority states that the reaction happens after the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ My reading is that the target of the spell Silvery barbs is the enemy creature, rather than the ally. The ally is merely affected by the spell, but they are not the target of the spell. Or maybe I'm too pedantic? \$\endgroup\$ Jul 7 at 16:42
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @MooingDuck Targeting is woefully underdefined in 5e. But you are choosing an allied creature to affect with the spell, I don't see how you could say that isn't targeting them with the spell. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 7 at 16:58
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @MooingDuck And I argue in this answer that even creatures affected by simple area of effect spells are targets of such spells. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 7 at 16:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ Both of these interpretations match my reasoning when reading the wording as well... guess it'll be up to the DM. Thanks folks😊 \$\endgroup\$ Jul 8 at 0:29

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .