Recover a deleted organization

Azure DevOps Services

After you delete an organization, it's disabled but available for 28 days. If you change your mind during this time, you can recover the organization. After 28 days, the organization and data are permanently deleted.

Prerequisites

Note

If there's no owner for the deleted organization and you're an active Project Collection Administrator (PCA) and a member of the deleted organization, you still can't access Organization settings to assign a new owner. If this is your scenario, contact Support.

Recover organization

  1. Sign in to your Visual Studio profile.

    Why am I asked to choose between my work or school account and my personal account?

  2. On your profile page, go to the lower Organizations Pending Deletion section, and then select Restore.

    Screenshot showing organizations pending deletion with highlighted Restore button.

  3. In the resulting popup, select Restore to confirm.

    • If your organization URL is still available, you can restore it.

      Screenshot showing highlighted Restore button.

    • If your organization URL isn't available, provide a new URL, and then select Restore.

  4. After you restore your organization, do the following tasks:

    • If billing was previously set up for your organization, relink your organization to an Azure subscription.
    • If your organization was connected to Azure Active Directory for authenticating user access, you don't have to reconnect it.