Remove users from Azure DevOps

Azure DevOps Services | Azure DevOps Server 2022 - Azure DevOps Server 2019

If users no longer require access to a team, project, or organization, you can remove their access.

Important

  • Removing a user from a team or project doesn’t remove the user from the organization.
  • Work items that are assigned to the user aren't affected by removing user access.
  • Azure Active Directory (Azure AD)-backed organizations:
    • After you remove a user from Azure AD, you can't assign artifacts to that user anymore. Examples are work items and pull requests. However, we preserve the history of artifacts that were already assigned to the user.
    • Removing a user from the organization doesn't remove their memberships to any Azure AD groups. If the user is a member of an access-granting Azure AD group, then the user still has access to Azure DevOps, even after you remove them from the organization. If you'd like to completely remove the user from the organization, make sure they aren't in any of your access-granting Azure AD groups. For more information, see about managing access with Azure AD groups
  • Managed service account (MSA)-backed organizations: After you remove a user from your MSA-backed organization, the user remains within the tenant and can be re-added at any time.

Prerequisites

Remove users from your organization

  1. Sign in to your organization: https://dev.azure.com/{yourorganization}.

  2. Select gear icon Organization settings.

    Screenshot showing highlighted Organization settings button.

  3. Select Users.

    Screenshot showing highlighted Users button within Organization settings.

  4. Select ... for the user to be removed. Select Remove from organization.

    Screenshot showing removal of a user from your organization.

  5. Choose Remove in the confirmation dialog.

    Why don't users appear or disappear promptly after I add or delete them in the Users Services page?

  6. If you deleted paid users who had Basic or higher features, also reduce the users in Organization settings. Then you're not charged in your next Azure billing cycle.

    To reduce or cancel users for the next month, make updates before the last day of the current month. Your bill won't show the changes until the next month because paid users are monthly purchases.

  1. Sign in to your organization: https://dev.azure.com/{yourorganization}.

  2. Select gear icon Organization settings.

    Screenshot showing highlighted Organization settings button.

  3. Select Users.

    Screenshot showing selected Users button in organization settings.

  4. Open the context menu ... for the user to be removed. Select Remove from organization.

    Screenshot showing removal of user from organization.

  5. Choose Remove in the confirmation dialog.

  6. To confirm that you've removed the users completely, make sure they aren't in any of your security groups.

    Why don't users appear or disappear promptly after I add or delete them in the Users Services page?

  7. If you deleted paid users who had Basic or higher features, also reduce the users in Organization settings. Then you're not charged in your next Azure billing cycle.

    To reduce or cancel users for the next month, make updates before the last day of the current month. Your bill won't show the changes until the next month because paid users are monthly purchases.

The Users page isn't available for on-premises server instances. However, you can use Azure DevOps CLI to manage users for Azure DevOps Server 2020.

Remove users from a team or project

To remove users from a project, remove them from the Teams groups they belong to or the Contributors group for the project. See Add users to a project or specific team. You can remove a user from the Members page of a team group or security group.

Screenshot showing removal of a user from a security group, new navigation.