Location via proxy:   [ UP ]  
[Report a bug]   [Manage cookies]                
Permalink
public
Switch branches/tags

Name already in use

A tag already exists with the provided branch name. Many Git commands accept both tag and branch names, so creating this branch may cause unexpected behavior. Are you sure you want to create this branch?
Go to file
 
 
Cannot retrieve contributors at this time
title f1.keywords ms.author author manager audience ms.topic ms.service ms.localizationpriority ms.collection ms.custom search.appverid ms.assetid description
Restore a user
NOCSH
kwekua
kwekua
scotv
Admin
article
microsoft-365-business
medium
Tier1
scotvorg
M365-subscription-management
Adm_O365
Adm_TOC
MSStore_Link
AdminSurgePortfolio
AdminTemplateSet
BCS160
MET150
MOE150
GEA150
2c261e42-5dd1-48b0-845f-2a016d29cfc1
Within 30 days after deleting a user account, you can restore the account and all data, and the user can sign in with the same account.

Restore a user in the Microsoft 365 admin center

When you restore a user account within 30 days after deleting it, the account and all associated data are restored. The user can sign in with the same work or school account. Their mailbox will be fully restored. To find out how much time remains before a specific user account can no longer be restored, contact us.

Here are a couple of tips:

Restore one or more user accounts

You must be a Microsoft 365 global admin or user management admin to do these steps.

  1. In the admin center, go to the Users > Deleted users page.

  2. On the Deleted users page, select the names of the users who you want to restore, and then select Restore.

  3. Follow the prompts to set their password, and then select Restore.

  4. If the user is successfully restored, select Send email and close. If you encounter a name conflict or proxy address conflict, see the instructions below for how to restore those accounts.

After you've restored a user, make sure you notify them that their password changed and you follow up with them.

Restore a user that has a user name conflict

A user name conflict occurs when you delete a user account, create a new user account with the same user name (either for the same user or another user with a similar name), and later try to restore the deleted account.

To fix this, replace the active user account with the one that you are restoring. Or, assign a different user name to the account that you are restoring so that there aren't two accounts with the same user name. Here are the steps.

  1. In the admin center, go to the Users > Deleted users page.

  2. On the Deleted users page, select the names of the users that you want to restore, and then select Restore.

    [!NOTE] If two or more users fail to be restored, an error message advises you that the restore operation failed for some users. View the log to see which users were not restored, and then restore the failed accounts one at a time.

  3. Follow the prompts to set the password and select Restore.

  4. A message pops up that says there was a problem restoring the account. Do one of the following:

    • Cancel the restore and rename the current active user. Then attempt the restore again.

    • OR, type a new primary email address for the user and select Restore.

  5. Review the results, and then select Close.

Restore a user that has a proxy address conflict

A proxy address conflict occurs when you delete a user account that contains a proxy address, assign the same proxy address to another account, and then try to restore the deleted account. Follow the steps below to fix this issue.

You must have admin permissions in Microsoft 365 to do this.

  1. In the admin center, go to the Users > Deleted users page.

  2. On the Deleted users page, select the user that you want to restore, and then select Restore.

  3. On the Restore page, follow the instructions to set the password and select Restore. Any conflicting proxy addresses are automatically removed from the user you are restoring.

  4. Review the results, and then select Close.

Related content

Delete a user (article)
Assign admin roles (video)
Assign licenses to users (article)