Location via proxy:   [ UP ]  
[Report a bug]   [Manage cookies]                
Permalink
main
Switch branches/tags

Name already in use

A tag already exists with the provided branch name. Many Git commands accept both tag and branch names, so creating this branch may cause unexpected behavior. Are you sure you want to create this branch?
Go to file
 
 
Cannot retrieve contributors at this time
title titleSuffix ms.custom description ms.subservice ms.assetid ms.topic ms.author author ms.date monikerRange
Delete or remove an organization
Azure DevOps Services
seodec18
Learn how to delete your organization, and what happens to users when you do.
azure-devops-organizations
82433ad3-d665-4a11-95b7-82178f493fb5
conceptual
chcomley
chcomley
04/16/2020
azure-devops

Delete your organization

[!INCLUDE version-eq-azure-devops]

When you no longer need an organization, you can delete it from Azure DevOps. If you change your mind within 28 days, you can recover your organization. After 28 days, your organization and data are permanently deleted.

When you delete your organization, note the following occurrences:

  • All users lose access to organization services and resources immediately.

  • Your organization URL becomes available for anyone to use. (It might take up to one hour before your organization URL becomes available again.)

  • Your organization is disabled, and appears deleted in your profile for 28 days.

  • If your organization is linked to an Azure subscription for billing purchases, you must unlink your organization before you delete your organization.

    You're still charged for any paid users and services used during this billing cycle. Billing stops after the current cycle ends.

To delete your organization, you need Project Collection Administrator permissions. How do I find the Project Collection Administrators?

Prerequisites

If your organization uses an Azure subscription to bill purchases, you must first remove billing from your organization before you can delete your organization in Azure DevOps.

Delete organization

To delete your organization, you need at least Basic access and Project Collection Administrator permissions. How do I find the Project Collection Administrators?

  1. Sign in to your organization (https://dev.azure.com/{yourorganization}).

  2. Select gear icon Organization settings.

    Screenshot showing highlighted Organization settings button.

  3. Select Overview > Delete.

    Screenshot of organization settings, with Overview and Delete highlighted

  4. In the resulting dialog box, enter the name of the organization, and then select Delete.

    Screenshot of Delete Account dialog box

  5. To review your organizations, go to your Visual Studio profile, where you can see your deleted organization.

    Need help?

Your organization is deleted.

Related articles